Compiling GIMP from source

I was confused when I did not notice any options (quality, blocksize etc) for converting to jpeg2000 but on digging out the manual I found a whole bunch of options to specify.  These were also defined in the jp2.c file provided by jasper, but I guess I overlooked it.  So I know what controlling parameters to put in the final interface.

I also got myself the source code of GIMP 2.2 and compiled it.  It took a while to get all the necessary libraries, but it worked out well in the end.  I looked at the jpeg.c plug-in and will use this as a starting point for the jp2 plug-in.  I have got everything I needed and should be able to get something useful working by tomorrow.

Schedule for the next couple of days:

  1. Write code using jasper libraries to read jp2 files.
  2. Learn how to write plug-ins and also how to add the jp2 extensions to the gimp interface.
  3. Write code for saving images as jp2 files

Hopefully I should be abe to these by Wednesday.  My parents have planned a 2 week vacation to visit several places followed by a week of stay at my grandparents place starting this Thursday.  I may not get much coding done during this time, but will catch up on reading for other wavelet applications.  The good thing is that I don't have any more plans to go out after that so I can spend all my time ont his project

Leave a Reply

